San Diego Group 8
Main Content

About Group 8

About Group 8


San Diego Group 8 is located in San Diego and Imperial Counties, California, a Group of California Wing of Civil Air Patrol. We are the Headquarters unit for six squadrons.

Our squadrons consist of senior members 18 years of age and older and cadet members between 12 and 21 years. There are three types of Squadrons, Senior, Composite, and Cadet, that contribute to all three of the core Civil Air Patrol programs: Aerospace Education, the Cadet Program, and Emergency Services. To learn more about our programs, please click here. To join CAP click here to start.

As background on our echelons, a senior squadron is open only to senior (adult) members. A cadet squadron is primarily for cadet members, but it must have three senior members. A composite squadron is composed of both senior and cadet members. A flight is smaller than a squadron and may have a charter or be part of a squadron. A group oversees and supports several squadrons in a given area. A wing is a state, commonwealth, or district headquarters. There is a wing in each of the 50 states, Puerto Rico, and the District of Columbia. CAP’s eight regions are composed of several wings or states.

More information is available in the short slideshow CAP 101, the 2021 Report to Congress, and the 2022 Fact Sheet attached to this page.


© 2023 Civil Air Patrol. All rights reserved.